Archive | February 3, 2012

Quiet time


I’ve been away from blogging for a while, partly because I have managed to injure myself seriously at the gym which made  the use of my fingers a little difficult. So my last date was a bust….complete and utter bust. I asked myself a number of questions.  Why are some men such cowards?  Why is it so hard to say, I’ve changed my mind and really not interested anymore.  I’ve done some introspective thinking and sometimes one’s confidence takes a battering after such events.  After much procrastination, I’ve realised that I need to focus on changing the type of guys I seem to attract.  But where do I start and how do I start to change this?  The internet and Google in particular seem to be the best place to start with my research.  

Keeping with this line of thinking, I was recently reading an online article which said that there are more single folk out there than ever.  This does not surprise me at all as a lot of my friends are single.  Dating websites seem to be profitable businesses during what is difficult times. How come?  Why are we spending so much hard-earned cash on an artificial way of meeting folk instead of the good old fashion way?  Don’t get me wrong, internet dating has its merits and I have nothing against being part of one. However, it did get me thinking that perhaps we have become lazy, shy, indifferent (errrrmmm…someone help me out here as I have run out of words to use!!) or even perhaps too vigorous about finding ‘The One’.

Moving on, I have now achieved one of my New Year’s resolution – to stop using dating websites for 3 months.  I have now ended my membership and removed my account from the last one I joined.  It will be a rather interesting experiment to see how long this lasts before I part with hard-earned cash onto the next internet dating website.  Perhaps I should give up dating for Lent 😉

Onwards and forwards

NP 🙂